373 – Begin Again


1. In The Still Of The Night (Porter) 7:02
2. Steeplechase (Parker) 6:38
3. Reminiscing (Gryce) 3:14
4. Social Call (Gryce) 5:23
5. Salt Peanuts (Gillespie/Clarke) 5:04
6. Begin Again (Glasser) 5:01
7. Taking. A. Chance On Love (Latouche – Fetter – Duke) 5:03
8. Team Time (Glasser) 4:06
9. Bossa For Brigitte (Glasser & Bayer) 5:58
10. Conviction (Hammer) 7:58
11. Tickle Toe (Young) 4:18
12. Reflections (Monk) 2:35
13. Epistrophy (Monk) 6:27
14. When You Wish Upon A Star (Washington – Harline) 5:13

About the Artist(s)


Of the forty or so times I’ve been fortunate enough to hear &/or record Dave Glasser over the past decade, the one thing that always strikes me is the respect and rich understanding he has for where this music comes from. and how eloquently he is able to apply that to what comes out of his horn. It’s evident in his tone, his phrasing, and the extensive musical vocabulary he draws upon as he creates his own unique voice. Of course, it is also apparent because he is one of the chosen few who, as an up and coming force in jazz, has fulfilled one of the greatest dreams of all musicians – to carve his niche and hone his craft under the guidance and encouragement of his heroes, the great innovators and masters of the genre. Sharing the front line with Clark Terry in his quintet since 1995, with the Count Basic Orchestra (under the direction of Frank Foster), as lead alto saxophonist and soloist with Illinois Jacquet. (Jacquet often introduced Dave as “the finest alto saxophone player alive today!”), with Barry Harris for many years, and assorted other all star casts, Dave Glasser has certainly become a ranking member. As these notes are being written, he’s actually off to Germany with Hank Jones.

Listen Now


Dave Glasser, alto saxophone;
Tardo Hammer, piano;
Lee Hudson, bass;
Tony Jefferson, drums


Jon Bates

Mastered By

Dave Kowalski

Artwork By

Ian Clifford